- This event has passed.
Mother’s Day showing of 1929 film Ed’s Coed
May 13 • 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm• Free
The Community Center for the Performing Arts in association with the Lane County Historical Museum will present a showing of the silent feature film Ed’s Coed, filmed in Eugene by University of Oregon students in 1929. (Courtesy of University of Oregon Libraries and the University of Oregon Foundation). The showing will feature an introduction by Lane County Historical Museum Director, Bob Hart.
The film’s production was coordinated by famous film producer Cecil B. DeMIlle’s lead cinematographer James F. McBride. Many local historic landmarks can be seen in the film including Johnson Hall, the UO’s Hello Walk, Hayward Field, McArthur Court, Skinner’s Butte, a free-flowing Mill Race and many other landmarks. Legendary track coach Bill Hayward and former UO Dean of Men John Straub portray themselves in highlighted sequences of the film. For supporters of preserving Oregon’s history this showing of “Ed’s Coed” is a must-see event. It is a delightful depiction of the campus life in 1929 and the University of Oregon’s context in the budding community of Eugene. This version of Ed’s Coed includes an original score by Prof. Brian McWhorter (UO School of Music and Dance).